I believe so, man..

I gotta set my hair!

gosh, there’s such a mess

hush! don’t say like that, I fancy her so much

I don’t see many prospects..

let’s make some predictions about my lifetime🙂

don’t you think that you went over the top? watch your tongue!

I can suppose that’s a family trait :] am I right?

 

 

Why did you do that? You lunatic! (crazy girl!) Why did you turn him down?

I do not fancy him, it’s not my fault.

Pauline, don’t you dare.. don’t you dare judge me

Is he amiable? (polite, kind)

I don’t want you to have relations with an inappropriate man. I love you too much to let you engage in such an unprofitable relationship.

Papa, I love him, I love him!

 

 

Have you been playing the pianoforte?

Oh my goodness. Everybody behave naturally

So this is your opinion of me?

I’ve overlooked these details. I gotta apologize for that

 

 

overlook = turn a blind eye

I overlooked your merits.

Are you expecting me to rejoice?

INFERIOTY COMPLEX

sounds familiar?

contempt = disdain

wish to realize the dream

 

 

made me realize that you were the last man in the world that I could ever be prevailed upon marry.

they look at each other for a long time as though about to kiss

acute = stabbing = piercing pain

far deeper than hers

He felt a strong attachment to her

 

 

There was a strong attachment between the two.

I wouldn’t do your sister the dishonour, believe me..

Gregory, you are merely a child..

lack of propriety – brak dobrego wychowania, brak kultury osobistej ( brak przyzwoitości)

thunder clush

 

 

Various misfortunes have made her sad and bitter(zgorzkniała as well)

misfortune = ill luck

Your answer was agreeable

agreeable = pleasant

his reign was utterly inept

 

 

she is barely tolerable. what was that supposed to mean ?

count your blessings, madame

precisely = exactly

proboscis = trunk (gr8!)

I wouldn’t dance with him for all of Darbyshire, let alone the miserable half

 

 

Have you no consideration for my poor nerves? (wyrozumiałość)

utmost ends of the year (najodleglejsze krance ziemi)

your behaviour was exemplary (przyklady, wzorcowy)

It’s been many years since I had such an exemplary vegetable

 

 

EAVESDROP

finds four of his daughters eavesdropping

you have to make sacrifices..

yes yes yes, a thousand times yes

I can’t help thinking that at some point I would have to do that..

 

 

The girl made the curtsy to the teacher

The children curtised and ran out of the room

She looked positively(really) medieval

Did you see her hem? (rąbek ubrania, tkaniny)

He is just what a young man ought to be

as may be required (it depends on your necessity)

 

I am not capable of doing that

this decision is irreversible (final)

Why do you ask such a question?

 

I’m doing that to make out your character

proceeding

exceedingly – nadzwyczaj

You have to clarify your opinion

His disclamation was clarifying

 

It’s no earthly use ( To nie ma najmniejszego sensu)

There is no earthly reason why I shouldn’t be as happy with him as any other

a lot to be thankful for..

 

I’m already a burden to my parents and I’m.. frightened

I love you most ardently ( z zapalem, zarliwie) 

tell it like it is, please

don’t beat around the bush!!!!

 

struggle (wysilek, zmaganie sie )

Sir, I appreciate the struggle I’ve been through..

unconsciously done

 

hinder = powstrzymywac

Why did you repulse me ?(reject, push)

CIVILITY (uprzejmosc, dobre maniery, zwroty grzecznosciowe)

In spite of my endeavours,I couldn’t contact her..

 

drive Pauline away – odstraszyć ją

You drove me away, broooooo!😀

stout = firm

firm embrace

long for your embrace

 

 

ladylike boy :]

debonair man (smart, sophisticated, elegant)

civility = courtesy = kindness = amiability = graciousness

gallantry = courage !! hope dies last ;d

 

thoughtfulness

 

By indolentlady

Leave a Reply

